graphic depiction of peripheral nerve coordinated reset stimulation

Ludwig Lab

Ludwig Lab

We translate the next generation neuromodulation therapies to hijack the nervous system to treat circuit dysfunction and deliver biomolecules to target areas with unprecedented precision.

What We're Up To

  • Acute and longitudinal benchtop characterization of new minimally invasive neural interfaces based on proven experience supporting FDA regulatory submissions
  • The application of cutting-edge optical tools in rodents to better understand and design clinical neuromodulation interfaces
  • Comprehensively instrumented swine model to refine new neuromodulation strategies at human anatomical scale in order to assess effects and side effects
  • Detailed functional and post-mortem anatomical evaluation across animal and human experimental models to reduce the time to translation of new concepts

 

Kip Ludwig

Associate Professor

Members

Spencer Averbeck

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: saverbeck@wisc.edu

Phone: (763)780-6944

Spencer is finishing up his junior year in Biomedical Engineering with a focus in Bioinstrumentation. Spencer helps out with multiple projects usually through physical testing of devices and data analysis. One of his biggest accomplishments…

Stephan Blanz

Position title: Associate Research Specialist

Email: blanz@wisc.edu

Rex Chin-Hao Chen

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: rchen328@wisc.edu

Phone: (414)949-7390

Rex is currently focusing on using photoacoustic imaging to visualize the peripheral nerve cross-section. His drive to solve any puzzle set before him has led him to look for all possible ways that we can…

Kevin Cheng

Position title: Assistant Scientist

Email: kpcheng@wisc.edu

Phone: (608)262-9411

Kevin has been with the lab for 10 years. He completed his undergraduate degree at Purdue University, his MS and PhD in Biomedical Engineering at UW Madison. Kevin designs, implements and runs experiments and new…

Maïsha Kasole

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: kasole@wisc.edu

Phone: (312)404-3380

Maïsha Kasole is an undergraduate student in biomedical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her special interests are bioinstrumentation and computer science. Outside of academia, Maïsha is passionate about STEM outreach in underrepresented communities and…

Maria LaLuzerne

Position title: Research Specialist

Email: mlaluzerne@wisc.edu

Phone: (608)890-1918

Maria has been with the lab since 2018. She is a townie, born and raised about 5 miles away from the UW campus. She completed her B.S. at the UW and previously worked for the…

Jonah Mudge

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: jmudge@wisc.edu

Phone: (262)506-4895

Jonah will graduate Spring 2021 with majors in Biomedical Engineering and Neurobiology and a minor in Computer Science. He hopes to pursue a PhD in BME after undergrad. Jonah is a jack of all trades…

Lauren Rohr

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: lmrohr@wisc.edu

Phone: (715)470-2919

Megan Settell

Position title: Research Associate, PhD

Email: settell@wisc.edu

Aaron Skubal

Credentials: Undergraduate

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: askubal@wisc.edu

James Trevathan

Position title: Research Associate, PhD

Email: jtrevathan@wisc.edu

James’ favorite things in the lab are using flurorescent microscopy, electrophysiology, and electrochemistry techniques to understand how novel neuromodulations strategies and electrode designs interact with the biointerface to effect downstream neural activity and burrito Mondays.

Nishant Verma

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: nverma4@wisc.edu

Originally hailing from Singapore, Nishant is a WITNe graduate student. He completed his undergraduate degree at Rice University. Nishant works on large animal studies for minimally invasive neuromodulation therapies. He enjoys grappling with the physics,…

Amanda Weis

Position title: Undergraduate

Email: asweis2@wisc.edu

Phone: (847)821-7787

As an undergrad Amanda has contributed to projects across the WITNe lab and has been able to see the ways in which engineering and neuroscience are inextricably intertwined in the medical field.